Amnesty International's Heroes & Heroines poster

From left to right, the 12 writers are:

+ Iyad Hayatleh, Palestinian refuge writer in Scotland.
+ Anushka Anastasia Solomon, Malaysian poet, in exile in the United States.
+ Wangari Maathai, Kenyan activist.
+ Shi Tao, Chinese journalist.
+ Anna Politkovskaya, Russian journalist murdered in 2006.
+ Lydia Cacho, Mexican journalist.
+ Shirin Ebadi, Iranian 2003 Nobel Peace Prize winner.
+ Pablo Pacheco Avila, Cuban journalist.
+ Woeser, Tibetan writer whose works have been banned in China.
+ Chris Abani, Nigerian.
+ Arundhati Roy, Indian novelist.
+ Ang San Suu Kyi, imprisoned Burmese democratic leader.

Click the pictures to reach the original Amnesty International web links and photo galleries.
Amnesty International